Sounds of Brazil

The Quintet announces the release of its exciting new recording, SOUNDS OF BRAZIL, on the MSR label. The music includes choros, lullabies and songs by Gaudencio Thiago de Mello who performs with the Quintet on his unique organic percussion from the Amazon. Thiago plays with the Quintet on works by Ernesto Nazareth and Pixinguinha as well. The Quintet is proud to include Changes, a work they commissioned by Brazilian-American pianist and composer Marcelo Zarvos. Rounding out the CD is Ventos, another Quintet commission by a gifted young composer on the New York scene, Ricardo Romaneiro. Guest artists include Blair McMillen on piano and Scott Kuney on guitar.

To order go to More about the CD…

Album number: MSR1279

Musicians Showcase Recordings – Sounds of Brazil

Karel Husa – Recollections


  • Deux Preludes
  • Five Poems
  • Recollections
  • Serenade

This {Poems} is one of the most entertaining and moving works I have heard for wind quintet, beautifully handled by this New York-based group…. I am particularly moved by Husa’s recent musicD. Moore American Record Guide July/August 2004

More Reviews… More about the CD…

Album number: ASIN: B00022LIBQ Click here for ordering information

Sound samples on

Dancing in Colombia

Sold Out, Downloads available on

  • 15 Colombian dances including bambucos, pasillos, bundes and paseos. Program notes in Spanish and English

Album number: MSR1077

Musicians Showcase Recordings – Dancing in Colombia

Self Portrait

  • Portrait of the Quintet of the Americas – Pauline Oliveros
  • La Loba – Amy Rubin
  • Amnesia Breaks – Lee Hyla
  • Woodwind Quintet – Christopher Culpo
  • JAG – Elliott Sharp

Oliveros – the whole work is improvisatory …Thus, the musicianship of the Quintet becomes even more impressive. Rubin – highly accessible in its infectious tune and rhythms…This is a wonderful group of musicians with wonderful tone, great ensemble… and interests in a wide range of styles.. Robert Carl, Fanfare, March/April 1997

More Reviews…

Album number: CRI CD722 Click here for ordering information

Discovering the New World

With the Manhattan School of Music Chamber Sinfonia, Glen Cortese, conductor.

  • Concerto for the New World – William Thomas McKinley
  • Dos tonos de verde – Roberto Sierra
  • The Sou – Louis Ballard
  • AMERICA Suite Popular – Ilan Rechtman

Each member of the Quintet of the Americas is a virtuoso in his or her own right….The sound on this MMC disc is extraordinary, and a good thing when dealing with the kaleidoscopic orchestrations of a McKinley or a Sierra. Elliott S. Hurwitt, Schwann OPUS Summer 1997

Album number: MMC2018 Click here for ordering information

MMC Recordings – Discovering the New World


20 Musical Mementos from the New World


  • Overture to Candide – Leonard Bernstein
  • Muskrat Ramble – Edward Ory
  • La Cumparsita – G. H. Matos
  • Summertime – George Gershwin
  • Ragtime Dance – Scott Joplin
  • The Soul – Louis Ballard
  • Struttin’ Butterflies – James Cohn
  • Tournament Gallop – Louis Gottschalk
  • Summer Music, op. 31 – Samuel Barber

Quintet of the Americas…is a sensation. Their virtuosity, balances, articulation and intonation mark them as on eof the world’s top wind quintets. I have never heard finer playing. Heuwell Tircuit, In Tune, 6/15/93

Spontaneity is apparent at every turn in these witty, inventive, and colorful readings. Carter, American Record Guide, March/April 1993

More Reviews…

Album number: XLNT 18008 Click here for ordering information – Souvenirs

Never Sing Before Breakfast

Note: CDs SOLD OUT, available in cassette tape only

  • Never Sing Before Breakfast – Steven Mackey
  • Comedies – Jeffrey Wood
  • Essays – Roberto Sierra
  • On Seven-Star-Shoes – Julia Wolfe
  • Ellis Island – Stuart Balcomb
  • Delizie Contente che l’Alme Beate – Jacob Druckman
  • Quintet for Wind Instruments – Ursula Mamlok

Quintet of the Americas certainly knows how to pick new music; or is it simply that their gorgeous playing makes it all sound do good? I think it is both, and this has become one of my favorite discs of new music for winds. James H. North, Fanfare, Jan/Feb 1992

More Reviews…


A Centenary Celebration

Note: CDs SOLD OUT, available in cassette tape only

  • Quinteto en Forma de Chìros
  • Chìros No. 1, 2, 3, 4, 7
  • New York Skyline
  • Trio for Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon
  • Fuga – Sobre um tema de car†ter popular brasileira
  • Canáoes Tipicas Brasileiras

…some of Villa-Lobos’ seldom-heard pieces…including Choros 3 for male voices and 7 winds, as well as the three Typical Brazilian Songs of 1919 and the Fugue on a Popular Brazilian Theme. …It’s easy to recommend this nicely performed and recorded collection of enjoyable music. Lehman, American Record Guide, July/August 1992

Album number: Newport Classic NPD85518 Click here for ordering information

Ordering Information

All CD’s $18. Cassette Tapes $10 Postage and handling $3.00 for first CD/tape and $1 each additional.

Send check payable to “Quintet of the Americas”

to Quintet of the Americas
c/o Oldham
116 St. Marks Avenue #1
Brooklyn, NY 11217

Please note we do not accept credit cards. Thank you.