Dylan Glatthorn

The Stuff of Comets (2012)

  1. Bright-Eyed Journey Through Space-time
  2. Adrift in the Blackness Between Galaxies
  3. One Moment in the Expanding Universe
  4. premiere

The Stuff of Comets was commissioned by Quintet of the Americas as part of a series of works inspired by photographs of space taken from the Hubble telescope. Quintet of the Americas gave its world premiere on February 4, 2012 on the Music of Now Marathon at Symphony Space, NYC

Note by the composer: The Stuff of Comets is a three-movement work for wind quintet that explores our place in the universe while reflecting on how we are all connected—inherently made up of the same material. The first movement, Bright-Eyed Journey Through Space-time, deals with the unique and simple way we understand the universe and our own existence as a child—or, moreover, as a human race. In the second movement, Adrift in the Blackness Between Galaxies, we drift through space and time—existing everywhere at once—and feel the emotional content of everything that has and ever will exist. The third and final movement, One Moment in an Expanding Universe, is also the shortest—running parallel with the notion that we only exist for an instant; however, as part of a larger whole, what we do can still be significant and beautiful.

One of the founding members of Circles and Lines, DYLAN GLATTHORN is the composer of film music, musicals, chamber music and choral works. He is a two-time recipient of the Alan Menken Award and recently had two original chamber works premiere at this year’s CMJ Music Marathon. He scored Today We Have The Power, a feature-length documentary about the World Trade Organization protests of 1999.

Brooklyn-based, Dylan has written music for nine feature films, Vimeo Staff Pick-ed shorts, and done commercial work for brands like Lindt, Nickelodeon, Oakley, Red Bull, Alessi, and PBS. For his work in film, he has been awarded the Clive Davis Award for Excellence in Music in Film and Best Original Score at the First Run Film Festival. Dylan is also a part of the Shipwrecked Comedy family — writing everything from scores for beloved web series like Edgar Allan Poe’s Murder Mystery Dinner Party to original standalone songs like “Friends ’til the End.”​

His original musicals, written with collaborator Will Lacker, include: The Pelican (NAMT Festival 2022), Bittersweet Lullaby (currently licensed through Music Theatre International)Edison, and Republic. He was the co-composer and arranger for Diana DeGarmo‘s GEMINI and co-producer and arranger for Lolo’s X and Lauren. He has served as music director and arranger for the USO Show Troupe as well as numerous award-winning cabaret productions for artists including Diana DeGarmo & Ace Young (American Idol, Hair), Alexa Green (Wicked, Company), Blaine Alden Krauss (Hamilton, Kinky Boots), Janine DiVita (Jagged Little Pill, Grease), and Michelle Dowdy (Les Miserables, Hairspray) at Feinstein’s/54 Below, The Laurie Beechman Theatre, The Metropolitan Room, and Birdland.

​He has composed numerous original musical scores for Orange Grove Dance including REMNANTS (Premiere: The Terrace Theater @ The Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C.) and Leaning Toward the Sky (commissioned by the United States Botanic Garden in Washington, D.C.). Other awards and honors include a 2022 RaumArs Artist Residency (Finland), the 2019 New Hampshire Theatre Award for Best Sound Design, 2022 & 2018 Mainstage Residency at Andy’s Summer Playhouse, 2019 & 2017 Greenhouse Residency at Andy’s Summer Playhouse, and the 2013 Metlife Creative Connections Grant

For more information on Dylan Glatthorn visit: